DIY: 5 Breakfast and Snack Toasts

It all started with the avocado toast. This simple creation has become a staple in my diet and many diets as I understand it. Some call it #basic, while others call it healthy fats. I call it: delicious, versatile and easy. Avocado toast is basically a healthy almost blank slate, ready for you to express yourself and/or treat-yo-self. But the toast game is so much stronger than avocado toast. I have recently (I know late to the game) expanded my toast horizons, because you can basically put whatever you want on toast. Here are a few ideas all in one place to help you get your fancy toast on.

Avocado Toast:

  1. two slices of whole wheat/sprouted grain/whatever you want bread, toasted
  2. 1/3-1/2 of a ripe avocado, I like to cut into the avocado in the peel and then mush it on the toast with a spoon, but you do you
  3.  enjoy

Avo-toast With a Little Kick -this is my go-to. It is a little more interesting, but still not too much work. The chia seeds give you a little mineral-fiber-protein boost and the red pepper flakes give it a little zing.

  1. two slices of whole wheat/sprouted grain/whatever you want bread, toasted
  2. 1/3-1/2 of a ripe avocado, I like to cut into the avocado in the peel and then mush it on the toast with a spoon, but you do you
  3. shake on some red pepper flakes to taste
  4. sprinkle on about 1 tsp of chia seeds, divided onto each

Goat Cheese and Avocado Toast -I came across this one when I needed something to do with my extra goat cheese from a very indulgent, very hungry post-workout to Whole Foods. Let me tell you, if this ever happens to you, you do not need as much goat cheese as you think you do. Unless you really like this next one…

  1. two slices of whole wheat/sprouted grain/whatever you want bread, toasted
  2. 1/3-1/2 of a ripe avocado, I like to cut into the avocado in the peel and then mush it on the toast with a spoon, but you do you
  3. crumble goat cheese on top to taste
  4. shake on some red pepper flakes to taste
  5. if you are feeling fancy, drizzle the whole thing with some extra virgin olive oil

Pecan and Cheese Toast -This one feels fancy, but it probably the easiest one. I was feeling inspired by a super simple toast I would eat in the morning after sleeping over at my childhood best friend’s house. It was cinnamon swirl toast with cream cheese and it was delicious.

  1. two slices of whole wheat/sprouted grain/whatever you want bread, I would actually suggest cinnamon swirl for this one, toasted
  2. 1-2 tbsp of cream cheese or goat cheese divided between the slices
  3. 4-6 pecans (I prefer caramelized for this one) per slice
  4. that’s it, so easy
FullSizeRender_3
Dressed Up Peanut Butter and Banana Toast

Dressed Up Peanut Butter and Banana Toast -One of my roommates first year of medical school ate a simpler version of this every day for breakfast. She is about to be an ophthalmologist. Not that they are related…but maybe…

  1. two slices of whole wheat/sprouted grain/whatever you want bread, toasted
  2. one tbsp peanut butter (creamy, chunky, salted, unsalted) per slice
  3. 1/2 banana, sliced and divided onto each slice
  4. 4-6 pecans (candied or regular, I prefer candied) per slice
  5. sprinkle on about 1 tsp of chia seeds divided onto each, or don’t, that’s cool too
FullSizeRender_2
Or skip the chia seeds

Those are my starter toasts for you! They all take less than 5 minutes, are pretty well balanced and go well with a cup of coffee or tea. Whether you need something super quick in the morning, or a simple snack during the day these have got you covered. Don’t be afraid to get creative! Let me know what you come up with!

One thought on “DIY: 5 Breakfast and Snack Toasts

Leave a Reply

