Nosh and Booze

I like to think I am a cool Chicago foodie but a swipe through Instagram makes me feel like everyone with a cell phone can call themselves a foodie these days. This pop up is my claim to fame as being a real foodie and not just someone who has been taking pictures of her food since before it was cool/socially acceptable…whatever a real foodie is…

The Place: Nosh And Booze; The Neighborhood: West Loop

img_5316
Country ham sandwich with gravy

Nestled in the remnants of Vivo (RIP) on Randolph St. this is by the same people as AMK in Logan Square. (Logan Square is a neighborhood the real foodies -like me -eat in too.) It’s snacks and drinks, sharable dinner and the most important meal of the week: brunch. I did all three in a week and a half. This place is actually that good.

Let me take a break from trying to convince you I am cool and talk about the food. It is so good! The snacks include spiced duck fat popcorn and cheese curds. It would be quite an accomplishment to make fried cheese bad so I’ll just say that even though spiced popcorn sounds boring they manage to make it sweet, salty and spicy all at the same time. Both times I got it, I could not stop eating it. Also shout out to the oxtail poutine and pimento burger. They make their own pimento cheese in house. It’s a good burger and not quite the food coma commitment Au Cheval is.

Next brunch. The fried chicken benedict is my jam. It is on top of a scallion and white cheddar biscuit which they also use for their biscuits and gravy. And everyone needs some fried chicken to go with their fried cheese curds. Go big or go home, right? These biscuits star in the country ham sandwich as well.

You could also just go here for the drinks and a snack while you wait out your intended popular West Loop dinner spot. The Violet Daisy and the IPA Jackass(MULE) are two of my favorites.

Anyway, even though Nosh and Booze will only be sticking around through December, it is a placeholder and taste of what is to come as AMK is promising a more permanent version later in 2017. And even though I’ve been sitting on this post almost a month now while I eat in airports and other cities, I will definitely be back at least one more time before it comes to a close in December!

2 thoughts on “Nosh and Booze

Leave a Reply

